The Why…

The purpose of this blog is to share my thoughts, feelings, and desires as I pursue a long and successful career as an educator. Ultimately, through reflecting on my personal experiences, I hope to continue to develop my teaching vision to best serve my students. This quotation supports my personal aims on my teaching journey.

“All this will not be finished in the first 100 days. Nor will it be finished in the first 1,000 days, nor in the life of this Administration, nor even perhaps in our lifetime on this planet. But let us begin.” – John F. Kennedy

I truly want to make a difference in the lives of others. In every class, in every city of every province, there are children who are being marginalized and not achieving their potential because of a poorly delivered Physical Education program. I believe the hardest part of ending this marginalization is getting others to truly believe that physical education is an important aspect of development. We have conditioned students to believe that a high mark is a result of athletic dominance and wearing your uniform. Once, during a placement, I heard a student ask for 100% in participation just for showing up. The teacher responded, “So what? I breathe every day”. This is the mentality that we need to continue with as we fight to have Physical Education revamped and redesigned to effectively develop the physical talents of children, providing them with the resources and the desire to be active for the rest of their lives.

4Y9A2099.jpg

Leave a comment